top of page

Falcoentrevista - Bridget Maguire-Colton


Clique para Português

The California Hawking Club ("CHC") was formed in 1971 by a small group of dedicated falconers to preserve and promote the public image of the art of falconry, to assist in the conservation of birds of prey, and to collect and disseminate information through its publications.



Falconer's Code of Ethics

Adopted by the CHC's Board of Directors on August 22, 1999


- First and foremost, I follow the laws regarding falconry.

- I do not keep raptors unless I fly them free during the hunting season.

- If I no longer intend to fly a bird, I will transfer my bird to another code-following falconer; or I will release the bird only if it is actively proving itself in the field.

- I do not draw undue attention to my birds.

- I keep my birds, mews, and equipment in top condition.

- I do everything in my power to recover a lost bird, and to bring a sick raptor back to health.

- If I am training an "apprentice" falconer, I will only advance them to "general" falconer if they follow the code.

Of the over 300 people that started in a typical year, less than 40 stayed the course.

Harris' Hawk "TK" and I last year where he took a 5 lb. Jackrabbit by himself.

1- What birds of prey did you fly and which one was the best?


I am currently flying a 7-year old, captive-bred male Harris' Hawk. So far, he is the best and the most fun to fly.


2- Any tip that you (personally, and not as a CHC member) think is important for a beginner?


Read everything you can get your hands on and know the regulations for your area. Knowing the laws and following them helps keep falconry legal for all of ys


3- We know that, in California, you have to pass through 8 steps and become a CHC member to trap a wild bird. Do you believe that this action can affect the specie's dynamics in nature?


It is not required to be a member of the CHC to be a falconer in California, but it certainly helps in finding other falconers to sponsor you. I think these regulations and the rigor of becoming an apprentice help the species by limiting the number of birds taken by people who are not trained in their care. As we know, the number of birds taken by falconers has a zero impact on the population, but if just anyone were able to take any baby bird from a nest, we would definitely see an impact.


4- What is your job in the CHC?


I am a member of the Board of Directors as well as the Northern California Apprentice Chair. I help new apprentices in Northern California find a sponsor and get started. I also lead our raffle at our annual meet.


5- We know that there is a Brazilian that is or was part of CHC. Did you get to know him and tell us a little about him in the Club? (He earned an apprentice award)


Fernando Silva! Yes! He is a friend of mine but has since moved out of state. He was a real joker and a goofball, but he flew his birds hard and treated them well.


* Fernando Silva CHC apprentice of the year (rules: http://migre.me/tp7CH)


6- CHC is a falconry club that is known world wide. Do you think it is due to the fact that you're extremely organized when it comes to the apprenticeship process?


I would like to think it is because of our membership and leadership that we are so well known. We also worked closely with the state to ensure that the falconry regulations will work for us. We are still working on this, but I think our club has been an example to many other states and countries of how a large falconry club can be run. We are far from perfect, but we want to do what is best for falconry and falconers.


7- Which step of the 8 graduation steps to become a recognized falconer by the CHC you think is the most important?


I think taking the test is the first and most important step. This proves that you have done your homework and know the regulations and a passing grade also proves to potential sponsors that you are serious about becoming a falconer. Everything after this step can be done with the help of your sponsor, but this first step is one you have to take by yourself.


8- How was it for you to get your falconry license? In which level are you now? (If you feel comfortable, can you send us a photo of your license?


I took my test in 2006 (I think), but it took me a long time to find a sponsor. Even though it was just 10 years ago, most falconers were men and didn't think much of young women in the sport. Just getting someone on the phone took months. Eventually, I met a few falconers in person and finally met the man who would take me as his apprentice. I had to convince him that I didn't just want a bird on my fist to look cool. I'd like to think it is easier for women now, but we still want to know that everyone is serious before taking them on. As a Master falconer who has taken on a few apprentices myself, I now know what kind of commitment it is to take an apprentice.


My wedding where TK served as the ringbearer.


9- What motivated you to become a falconer and get this important position that you are now on CHC?


I've always been enamored with birds and somewhere in my young life I got to see someone have a hawk or owl fly to their glove. I was hooked from there on and nothing would stop me from trying to figure out how to do it myself. As I became a falconer, my sponsor and other mentors ingrained in me the importance of giving back to the CHC and supporting it by volunteering. I found tasks I was good at and could to do help the club and even if I pass the baton to another falconer, I will always find a way to help the club that has helped me so much.


Women falconers group - Meeting CHC


10- Is there lots of female falconers like you in the CHC? Is there anyone that you remember that stands out?


We are a growing group within falconry! I would say our club is probably 40% female now. We've started doing a women falconers group photo at the annual field meet and it's wonderful to see the group growing. So many of these women have influenced my falconry and my relationships with other club members. Nicole Perretta is a woman who really stands out to me. She and I first met on a chat group about falconry years before I ever got my license and she was always so supportive and kind to me. We live on different ends of the state, but see each other at least once a year at the field meet. She's flown just about every hawk or falcon or eagle we use in California and is knowledgeable about all of them. She is the kind of falconer I will forever strive to be. She gets her birds out as often as possible, takes game and gives back to the club.


Some of the questions that must be answered by the novice before enrolling in CHC

Are you ready to be one of that elite band of hunters in the most awesome sport on the face of the earth? Are you ready to have people see you with awe, amazement and sometimes anger? Are you ready to be the absolute center of attention whenever you carry your hawk on your fist? Are you ready for that incredible rush when that wild creature first returns to you, on its own and able to fly free but decides to come to you instead?

Answers: Only the first two really count. The third one can be learned. The fourth is a lot easier than it reads. And the last is reason enough.


[if !supportLists]1. [endif]Will you, can you, commit part of your waking hours to a creature who at the very best of times will merely tolerate your presence, is as affectionate as a stone, and at the worst of times will cause you heartache and puncture wounds? Can you commit to an average of a half-hour a day, every day, and two to four hours on a hunting day, regardless of school, family, or job - forever?


4. Will you be able to convince the California Department of Fish and Wildlife, and at least one general or master level falconer that you have the drive, the dedication, the motivation, the book knowledge, the facilities and equipment to properly house and care for a Redtailed hawk or an American kestrel?


8. What do we expect from you? In your first year, we expect you to trap, man, train, and hunt with a passage redtail or kestrel. Ninety-nine percent of apprentices begin with the redtail. Many beginners get the impression that because redtails and kestrels are used by apprentices they are easy birds to work with. That is not the case. The only reason those hawks are allowed you is because they are successful as a species and are fairly plentiful. While they are not the easiest birds to work with, they are not difficult to work with. Once you successfully hunt with a redtail, the other ground-oriented species are easy. Once you hunt successfully with a kestrel, you will find the larger falcons to be just that - larger, more impressive, certainly, but not harder to work with. If the magic doesn't work and it becomes obvious to you and/or your sponsor that falconry just isn't for you, we expect you to release your hawk. Falconry isn't everybody's cup of tea. Having to release your bird because you aren't cut out to be a falconer is extremely rare, on the order of less than one a year, but it's better than causing irreparable damage to you or one of our treasured hunting partners.



Steps to Becoming a Falconer

The eight steps you must follow to become a falconer: (http://www.calhawkingclub.org/index.php/falconry-apprenticeship/steps)

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

FALCOEIRAS BR

Recent Posts
bottom of page